O Christmas Tree

Well…I’m still getting used to WordPress.  I ended up overwriting a post I’d created earlier today when I thought I was creating a new one…then when trying to re-create it, I lost it twice – once when I ended up just publishing the photo, then again when I lost the internet connection to wordpress.  Oh, well, here goes again…

The scrappy Christmas Tree Quilt is finished!  I’m just making the label to stitch on the back.  I’ve actually made two tops.  This one has mitered borders, and the other has the piano key/rail fence pieced outer border.  I’ve only quilted the one, so far.  The star and gifts are machine embroidery, and the garland is hand embroidered with gold ribbon floss.

This will be one of the items that I have for sale at the Toronto East Rotary Club Arts and Crafts Sale this Saturday (Nov. 17th) at Eastminster United Church on Danforth Ave. in Toronto.

This week will be busy finishing off projects for the show.  I’m not sure if I’ll have time to finish the second scrappy tree quilt for the show, but if not, I’ll have a new quilt to hang in my hall this Christmas season!

About jmStitching

A love of stitching has been inherited from my mother and grandmother. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have at least a couple of stitching projects underway. Whether it’s by hand or machine, there are always new projects I’d like to try or fibres I’d like to experiment with…and a few projects waiting to be finished!
This entry was posted in Free Motion Quilting, Quilting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O Christmas Tree

  1. Love it!!! Maybe I can make one too for this Christmas!

  2. jmStitching says:

    Since it’s just squares and half square triangles, the top went together quickly. I also used a gridded fusible interfacing to put it together. You iron the squares to the interfacing using the gridded lines to keep everything straight then turn it over and stitch 1/4″ seams in one direction. Clip the interfacing between the squares, and stitch the seams in the opposite direction.

Leave a Reply

