Serendipity

I love it when ideas from various sources come together to create something.  Today’s project has inspiration from 3 things:

1. The October Club EQ Challenge is to create new Christmas (or other holiday) blocks.

2.  BeaQuilter posted a tutorial this week on her blog outlining a way to create a rail fence border in EQ.  She has issued a challenge to play with this in EQ and link to her blog.  Carol’s challenge entry uses a scrappy heart block which uses squares and half square triagles.

3.  I have lots of 2″ square fabric scraps.  When I’m cutting quilting fabric, I try to organize the scraps left over.  I started by cutting all the leftover bits into 2″ and 3-7/8″ squares, for 4-patches and Half Square Triangles to make scrappy quilts inspired by Bonnie Hunter’s Leaders and Enders Quilts, although I now have various sizes of scrap squares and strips based on Bonnie’s tips on how to organize scraps.  This summer I was making a green and neutral quilt with lots of different green and neutral batiks, so I have many green and neutral 2″ squares to use up.
So…I was playing in EQ to design a new Christmas block and came up with this, made from 2″ squares and HSTs:

Then I used Bea’s method of creating a “Rail Fence” type border to get this:

Now I have an entry for the EQ Challenge this month, I can try out Bea’s “Linky” thing on her blog, and use up some of my scraps!

About jmStitching

A love of stitching has been inherited from my mother and grandmother. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have at least a couple of stitching projects underway. Whether it’s by hand or machine, there are always new projects I’d like to try or fibres I’d like to experiment with…and a few projects waiting to be finished!
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

