Fabric Frugality

Last winter, I started working on a project for the bazaar held at the church where the Pieceful Night Quilters’ Guild meets.  Northcott Silk Inc. is very generous and donated a box of fabric for the guild to use.  I took home a bundle of strips something like this (although my fabrics were from the “Indigo” colour line):

Fabric Strips

I used the strips to make a table runner, using the “Mystery Quilt” pattern generously shared by Carolyn Kerr on the Maple Leaf Quilt Guild yahoo group last fall.  Basically, you sew strips into a tube, then cut triangles and open them up to get squares.  Here’s the layout I chose:

Since the strips I used were only about 20″ or so (not the width of fabric as suggested in Carolyn’s instructions), I ended up using 4 strip sets.  When you cut the triangles to make the blocks, there are end pieces which I thought too good to discard, so I stitched them together to make 4 placemats:

I also sewed sets of 4 strips together, thinking to use these for the placemat backs, but when I took these to the guild meeting this summer where we work on bazaar items, I found some plain blue fabric in the guild stash that would be great for backing, so I used the strips for a second set of placemats:

I used some more of the strips to make scrappy binding (the strips were cut from the length of the fabric, so wouldn’t be the best for binding, as is), by sewing the strips together then cutting bias strips, then piecing them together to make a long length of binding.

I quilted and bound the runner and placemats this summer, and when I had finished, I still had some scraps of the fabric left….so I made some potholders.  The one side of each is made from strips and the other from odd shaped scraps stitched together sort of like crazy quilt blocks:

There were still a few scraps left over, so I stitched them into small crazy quilt blocks to use in fabric greeting cards.  The seams are embroidered with various threads and yarns from my stash.

The rest of the scraps went into a “cat bag”…basically a fabric bag that’s stuffed with fabric and batting trimmings, then stitched closed.  One of the local quilt shops collects these and donates them to the local animal shelter to put in the bottom of the cat cages.  The table runner, placemats, pot holders and cards will be donated to the bazaar.

I think I can say that every scrap of this fabric was used!

About jmStitching

A love of stitching has been inherited from my mother and grandmother. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have at least a couple of stitching projects underway. Whether it’s by hand or machine, there are always new projects I’d like to try or fibres I’d like to experiment with…and a few projects waiting to be finished!
This entry was posted in Crazy Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

